Safety standards are an essential part of auto racing.
Safety standards offer a required guaranty of basic protection to the various participants (drivers, crew, track personnel, rescue team...). Sanctioning bodies or specialized non-profit entities establish safety standards and the tests a product must undergo to earn their safety label. Such tests consist in timed flame exposure, applied pressure on a product or its components, resistance to various impact types from different angles… Samples of each product (according to size, options, etc.) are sent by the manufacturers to test laboratories approved by the sanctioning bodies, certification being granted if the given product exceeds the required standards. Here is a summary of the most commonly used and most stringent standards for the kart suits.

Areas of use and degrees of effectiveness:
The main points of the standard are:
 - Leisure: Level 1
 - National competition: Level 1 or 2 (depending on national rules, but level 2 is recommended)
 - International championships: Level 2 made mandatory since 1 January 2003.
The certification has been valid [...] for
5 years, but a mandatory intermediate test must be carried out in the third year.
The garment may not be used more than
5 years after its manufacturing date.
Level of efficiency:
Level 1: the garment is designed to afford a certain degree of protection, which is compromised as little as possible by its weight and fit associated with its use.
Level 2: the garments provides a degree of protection superior to level 1. However, this level of protection presents a weight inconvenience.
Certification requirements:
 - Constant fit
 - Tearing resistance
 - Energy absorption during impacts
 - Abrasion resistance
 - Splitting impact resistance
 - Friction burns resistance
 - Fit and comfort
 - Hold in shape.
Very important:

- Check your racing suit before use!
- In case of a crash, send it back to Stand 21 for inspection!
- No modification is authorized without our agreement!

More info